Stay Humble, Stay Hopeful | Lokai

American actress Ashley Greene was one of the first people I followed on Instagram when I signed up to the social media platform many years ago. If you’re not sure who she is, you might recognise her as Alice in The Twilight Saga (yes, I’ll proudly admit that I was a Twi-hard back in the day #TeamJacob). At least that’s where I knew her from anyway.

A year or so later, I saw her post a picture featuring a Lokai bracelet and, intrigued, I looked it up and thought it was pretty damn cool. If you haven’t heard of Lokai before, I’ll give you a quick run down. With the caption ‘Find Your Balance’, this company sell bracelets that contain water from Mount Everest, the highest point on earth, and mud from The Dead Sea, the lowest point on earth, resembling the notion of life and it’s natural ups and downs: ‘These extreme elements are a reminder to the wearer to find balance – staying humble during life’s highs and hopeful during its lows.’ What’s even better about this company is that, it donates 10% of its net profits to charity partners, often bringing out a range of limited edition coloured bracelets to support specific charities such as WWF, Save the Children and Charity: Water.

After previously buying a classic Lokai bracelet for my friend’s 21st last year, I received an email from the company about a month ago informing me of their most recent charity partner: National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI). Having always wanted a Lokai for myself, I thought this the perfect time to buy one as mental health is something that I have struggled with, particularly within the past year. So, I bought one and yesterday, it arrived!

This Lokai bracelet is orange, which is not usually a colour I go for, but I love it as it reminds me to find my balance throughout the natural ups and downs of daily life. In a positive light, it is also a reminder of mental health, not just for myself, but for others too who might see the bracelet and know the background of it and know that they are not alone.

I highly recommend Lokai and what they stand for. I’ve seen people in the past suggesting that the whole idea of collecting water from Mount Everest and mud from The Dead Sea is fake (there’s a surprising amount of people on YouTube who have spent good money on these bracelets just to cut them open) but regardless – the message this company gives out is a positive one. And if that isn’t what the world needs, I don’t know what is.

If you’re interested and would like to read more about Lokai and what they do, check out: www.lokai.com

Leave a Reply

