Regrets and Realisations

tumblr_mtfsldz2Ds1ra44j7o1_1280

It’s all well and good being told:
‘Life’s too short to live with regrets’.

But if you have a regret – and trust me you’ll know – it’s far from easy to erase it from your mind.


I’m 20 and I have only one regret.

Perhaps I’m a little young to have regrets. But regardless, it’s there.
It might come and go and there’s times when I dwell on it more than others but it’s still there somewhere at the back of my mind, lurking in the shadows, ready to creep into the light at 2am when I can’t sleep.

But that’s the thing about regrets. It may not seem like it and it may take some time but one day eventually, a realisation appears in your mind out of nowhere, making that thought just a little bit better.

I had my realisation last night. I was lay in bed, just drifting off to sleep when – BAM! there it was. That small bit of my mind that thrives on logic, puts things in perspective and makes all doubts and worries just that little bit better.


I guess the message of this blog post is not about not having regrets but about dealing with them.

It may take some time but eventually one day, that regret, that lingering worry, that doubt – something will win it over. Whether that be by your own mind, someone else or yourself; one day, everything will get better.

And sometimes the regrets might even work themselves out. All we can do is trust in the universe and hope that what will be, will be.

.x.

2 thoughts on “Regrets and Realisations

  1. I’m 20 too and I was actually vulnerable about this yesterday to a friend, letting out my past like I don’t regret a thing..like you said, it’s something we can’t escape from but I guess if we learn to embrace it and not see it as a regret, it might eventually not be one, with time. I do love your post..thanks for the reminder 🌸

    1. Yes definitely! And with time, perhaps we’ll have a second chance to change the things we regret. I’m glad I could help, thank you so much for reading and commenting :)

Leave a Reply

