Both the Best and Worst of Fandoms

Now I’m in a lot of fandoms.

If I sat and counted them, we’d probably be getting into double digits.

But there’s one fandom that I’ve joined recently and I don’t think I’ve ever experienced anything like it.


I’m not really sure where to start so we’ll go to the beginning:

Prior to going to see them in concert last month, my friend posted 5SOS’s first album to me at uni. Now, a few of my friends and I had seen 5SOS briefly when they’d supported One Direction a few years back and (in comparison to a lot of the other support acts I’ve seen recently) we actually thought “Yeah, these guys are alright!”

A few years on, my friend asks if we’d like to go see 5SOS at their ROWYSO tour in 2015 and, like I do with most concerts, I said yeah despite not knowing much of their music other than the well known ‘She Looks So Perfect’ and ‘Don’t Stop’.

After listening to their album on repeat for weeks with probably a few weird looks from those who walked past my uni room, I felt myself getting slowly sucked in. And then suddenly one day – BAM! I’m tweeting the lyrics, searching edits on tumblr and fangirling to the max along with my friend (who most definitely loves them even more than I do and is probably reading this now so hey! :D)

The weird thing about the 5SOS fandom that is so different to other fandoms I’ve been in is that once you enter, you cannot leave. I don’t know what it is but one day you’re just sat happily watching reruns of The Big Bang Theory and then the next, you’re subtly trying to drop their song lyrics into conversations with customers at work…

This is why the 5SOS fam is both the best and worst. Their songs are so frickin’ awesome and sometimes they do things that physically make my heart hurt. But at the same time, my life is consumed by them. Listening to them in the car, whilst running, staying up late youtubing their interviews, buying their piano sheet music… *heavy breathing*… okay, I’m getting a little bit OTT now so I’m just gunna stop there.


I know I might be judged for being part of this fandom but quite honestly, I don’t care. I’m old enough to know better than what people think of me and frankly, these four kids from the other side of the globe make me so happy :)

.x.

Also: I just wanna say how proud I am of these four dorks who seriously levelled up yesterday with their release of new single ‘She’s Kinda Hot’. You guys are kinda hot too. Just sayin’ ;)

2 thoughts on “Both the Best and Worst of Fandoms

  1. Exactly! It’s like you form a connection with the boys, like their your little babies (even though they’re older than me lol) but it’s like abandoning them if you leave the fandom, so I see what you’re saying and I agree

Leave a Reply

