Clearing Out

clutter

Junk. Junk everywhere.

After almost twenty years of living in the same room all my life, I have acquired a lot of… stuff.

Old school books, shoes that are two sizes too small, items of clothing I have never worn, an infinite number of gel pens and a whole lot of drained batteries. You name it. It’s probably there.

This summer, I’ve made it my mission to have a good ol’ de-clutter. And damn, doesn’t it feel good.

Shrouded in the darkness right at the back of my wardrobe (under what seemed like a million empty carrier bags), I found the entirety of my A Level revision notes.
History. Psychology. English. Even maths (which were definitely the first lot to go straight into the bin!)

Strangely, it was only then that I realised how much of a nerd I was (sorry, did I say ‘was’? I meant ‘am’) as when looking through my work, I noticed the seemingly endless extent of a whole rainbow of detailed mind-maps.

I snapped a photo of some of it to a friend who was horrified that I was throwing away my old school work.

But then I remembered what Aunt May says at the end of The Amazing Spider-Man 2:

“I’m going to take one last look, and I’m going to put it where it belongs.”

…. which in the case of my revision notes, was straight into the bin!


I didn’t throw everything away, of course. I kept bits that were interesting or might be useful to my degree now and (somewhere) I still have school books from when I was much younger.

But there’s something about throwing away things you don’t need. It’s like looking back on chapters of your life that are now over and, after one last look, saying goodbye and making room for the future.

.x.

Leave a Reply

