The Toughest 3 Weeks of My Life (so far)…

1010403_10202660085928989_4795617832754312891_n

Summertime last year, I took probably one of the biggest steps of my life and ventured the furthest away from home I’d ever been.

Different country, different continent, different hemisphere.

And what an adventure it was.

Three weeks ago, I took another big step in my life,

and somehow I think this one has been even harder.


Three weeks ago, I moved into university; one of the bravest and most daunting things that I have ever encountered in my life.

I’m not gunna lie; the past three weeks have been tough. And I mean tough.

But – somehow! – I’ve managed to make it three weeks.

Three weeks! 

I never even imagined I’d make it this far.


Backtracking now to about a year ago when I was procrastinating scrolling through tumblr and came across the picture above.

What a wonderful piece of Legend of Zelda fan art it is.

For those of you who haven’t played ‘Majora’s Mask’, here’s a bit of background for you:

The main character, Link (featured in green on the horse), has left his homeland after fighting through time to save it. He’s lost and alone in the woods when Skull Kid (featured wearing the purple mask in the bottom left square) knocks him from his horse and steals her. Link chases after Skull Kid who leads him into a sort-of parallel universe. Here he finds that there is a strange evil spread across the land and that he must battle to save it, it’s people and himself.

Link is in an unfamiliar place, lost and alone. Yet he is brave.

And this picture conveys this:

“It’s not easy being so far from home but I think I’m here for a reason.”

This is how I feel about the past three weeks. 

Even though it’s tough being away from home, away from my family and friends, I think that this is something I have to do.

Right now, even though I sometimes feel awful, I know that:

This. is. where. I’m. meant. to. be.


So, moral of the story:

Regardless of where you are in your life, whether it’s at university like me, working, in another continent, at home or wherever – sometimes you are meant to be right where you are.

It might seem like a difficult place to be but occasionally you need to pass through tougher times to make way for greater things and the next stages of your life.


Bear with it,

Stay Strong and,

like Link,

have Courage.

.x.

Leave a Reply

